When Life Gives You Lemons…

… Make lemon drizzle cake!

P1000529

Now I know this is my second ‘foody’ post in a row but today I thought I’d share with you my favourite lemon drizzle recipe – and it’s too good not to write about! I have tried a fair few recipes in my past baking shenanigans and I’m happy to say this one has come out on top! The recipe is originally from Rosie (aka The Londoner) and it has fast become my go-to cake!

I love how the actual cake part isn’t too overpowering, but then the strong, zesty icing is just the… icing on the cake… sorry.

This recipe is very simple. So simple in fact I already had all of the ingredients in my apartment and didn’t need to pop to the corner shop!

You will need…

For the cake:

170g self-raising flour

170g unsalted butter (preferably at room temperature, but pop it in the microwave for a few seconds if not soft enough)

170g caster sugar

3 large eggs (170g)

2 lemons (zest)

For the icing:

The juice of the 2 lemons you zested

110g icing sugar

The cake recipe is pretty simple, if you want to make the cake bigger, just increase the amount of ingredients you use, just make sure they all add up to the same number of grams.

To begin, grease a bread tin and pre-heat the oven to 180°C.

Cream together your butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add your beaten eggs. To this mixture add the self-raising flour and the grated lemon rind.

P1000530a

Pop into the tin and place in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

Whilst this is in the oven you can be concocting the drizzle. At this point please make sure you sieve the icing sugar as once the lemon juice is added it is very difficult to remove any lumps!

Once your cake is baked, leave in the bread tin and pour your drizzle straight over the top. Sometimes I like to make holes in the cake so the drizzle can seep down into the body, making it lovely and moist (is it just me who detests that word…?).

At this point I like to put the cake (still in the bread tin) in the fridge for 20 minutes or so. This just speeds up the process of the icing going hard and the cake being able to be eaten… but it depends how long you can wait!

Otherwise just leave on the side until cooled.

And hey presto! You have a scrumptious cake!

P1000536a

Just look at that frosty icing!

(close-up)

When life gives you lemons, make lemon drizzle cake! 🍋🍰

A post shared by Imogen Lovera (@imogenlovera) on

Keep your eyes open for some Halloween posts coming up soon! I am doing something VERY exciting on the 31st!

Bye bye for now!

Leave a Reply

