{food} The Poacher & Partridge, Kent

Tonight I went to dinner with my parents.

This is a tradition we’ve been doing for some time now, that the night before I leave to go back to university, whether it be after Summer, Christmas or Easter, we always go out for a farewell meal.

This time we decided to go to The Poacher & Partridge, where between the age of 15-18 I used to work. It has been thoroughly refurbished and the menu has been redone so it’s much better than when I used to have a job there!

We set of in mums car and arrived at the, already pretty full, restaurant ravenous. Therefore while we waited for our starters we munched on rosemary and garlic & mozzarella and caramelised onion flatbread, washed down with an Argentine Malbec. Very scrummy.

P1000350

P1000352

P1000353

We ordered duck pate, goats cheese salad, and a ‘Spanish Breakfast’ which had chorizo, potatoes and a duck egg.

The pate looked a bit like vomit but I assure you, it tasted heavenly, especially with the accompanying caramelised onion and crusty bread. It was so good I pretty much licked the plate clean!

P1000354

P1000355

P1000357

P1000356

P1000358

P1000359

For mains we went for mussels, mullet and a pizza cooked in the special woodfire oven – pretty impressive to have in a small country pub!

P1000361

P1000362

P1000364

P1000366

P1000365

My favourite part of eating mussels is dipping the bread into the sauce at the end! Yummy!

Then for desert – because clearly we weren’t full up yet… – I ordered Amaretto crème brulee (too creamy IMO, not very nice!), my stepdad went for pear bread & butter pudding and mum went for the cheese board.

P1000368

P1000371

P1000372

P1000367

P1000370

Overall a pleasant meal, not outstanding, but good enough to appreciate the fact we didn’t have to cook!

This is what I wore for the evening if you’re interested…

P1000375

My new Hennys jumper which I mentioned yesterday, an American Apparel navy blue skirt and my mums (now mine) vintage waist belt.

Leave a Reply

