What’s In My Travel Make-Up Bag?

As I only brought hand luggage with me to Egypt I had to be very precise with what makeup/skincare I was going to pack due to the 100ml rule and the 20x20cm plastic bag it all had to fit into. So I thought it would be interesting to show you which items made the cut.

Now I am storing all of my travel makeup in this Alexander McQueen make up bag. It’s the perfect size as it can squash into a suitcase if you don’t fill it entirely but then can be filled to the brim when I use it on a daily basis back home in England.

P1000202

This is all the items laid out. It looks like a lot but compared to the normal amount I have in there – this is nothing!

P1000205

First up is my One Heck Of A Blot Soap & Glory translucent powder. I spoke about this in my first post and it really is an essential for when my skin gets all shiny in the hot weather. This tends to stick with me throughout the day in my handbag for touch-ups when I need them.

P1000219

Next are the two Real Technique brushes I brought with me. These are the Contour brush (smaller one) which I use for concealer and the Powder brush which is used (obviously) with my setting powder.

P1000220

The two concealers I use are from Maybelline (FITme!) and YSL (Touche Éclat). I use the Maybelline one on any blemishes or redness, as I do not wear any foundation when my face is tanned. I usually don’t have many blemishes due to the magical work of the sun but for anything I like to cover up, this is essential. The YSL concealer is used purely for underneath my eyes to brighten the skin up and hide my dark circles. It is a very light consistency and blends in very well to make it look as if you are not wearing anything there at all! Lastly pictured here is my Soap & Glory Supercat liquid eyeliner, which is great for the evening to make me look a little more ‘glammed up’ or a simple flick during the day when I’m not diving! This is my favourite liquid eyeliner as the felt tip-like tapered end makes it so simple to apply.

P1000216

Next up are my 3 mascaras. Well technically 2 mascaras and one clear ‘gel’. Now I use the Clinique High Impact Extreme Volume mascara for my top lashes as the brush is absolutely massive and really aids in lengthening and spreading my lashes to make them look fuller. Then I use the Clinique Bottom Lash mascara for my… you guessed it! Bottom lashes! It’s a tiny brush which really maximises your tiny lashes and gives a kind of doll-eye effect which I personally love the look of, plus it’s so much easier than using a large brush (which if I do use, I usually end up with black marks on my cheeks!). This ‘mascara’ is from Miss Sporty but to be perfectly honest any brand will do as long as it is clear. Now throughout the day I usually find my brows get rather unruly so I use this in the morning just to set them so they don’t budge!

P1000214

This is a Travalo, which I decanted some of my favourite scent of the moment into. These are so useful for when you go abroad as it means you don’t have to waste space and weight taking the whole bottle. Currently in this one is Chanel Chance Eau Fraîche which is perfect for the evening!

P1000218

Here I’ve got my Shu Uemura Eyelash Curlers, which I use every day before I put on mascara. Then there’s the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo [+] which I use daily and is incredible and clearing any blemishes. I use this morning and evening and it was the one essential piece of skincare I brought with me. With this and the help of the sun my skin is as clear as day at the moment (an Egyptian day that is!).

P1000215

Last but not least is this scrunchie. Now I stole this from my mother but you can find these anywhere. I usually do my make up after I’ve straightened my hair so this is great for getting my hair out of my face (while I do my makeup) without adding any unwanted kinks!

P1000224

Be sure to let me know what you think is an essential for a sunny holiday!

Leave a Reply

